media releases
Wellington prepares for E-waste ban
June 19, 2019

Wellington Shire Council is preparing for the state-wide ban on e-waste being disposed of through household rubbish bins or landfill.

E-waste is defined as any item that needs a plug or a battery to work.

After 1 July, Wellington residents can drop off their e-waste at our transfer stations at Kilmany, Maffra, Stratford, Yarram, Loch Sport, Heyfield, Seaspray and Dargo during normal operating hours. The e-waste will need to be separated from general waste.

There will also be e-waste bins ideal for small items located in the Wellington Centre at the Port of Sale and the Yarram Hub.

E-waste will no longer be allowed in household bins.

Examples of e-waste include:

  • Computers, monitors, mice, keyboards, printers, faxes
  • Entertainment equipment – TV’s, VCRs, DVD players, remote controls, cameras, game consoles
  • Mobile phones/telephones
  • Power tools such as drills, electric mowers, sewing machines, electric mixers
  • Other components including transformers & resistors
  • Electronic games including computer game consoles
  • Household appliances such as microwaves, toasters, irons, kettles, vacuum cleaners and hairdryers

A Live e-waste Q&A event will be held on Council’s Facebook page on Wednesday, 26 June from 7.15pm. Anyone wanting to ask specific questions about Council’s response to the e-waste ban is welcome to log on and join in the conversation. Simply visit Council’s Facebook page and you will find information in the ‘Events’ section.

To learn more about e-waste, visit Sustainability Victoria’s website at

View Recent Releases

view all
Sign-up to our Digital Edit newsletter today and stay up to date!