Australia Day Awards


Wellington Shire Pools Operating Status (Temperature Trigger)

No items found.

Australia Day Awards recognise and honour the outstanding achievement by individuals and groups in our community.

Awards that are available in our municipality include:

  • Citizen of the Year
  • Young Citizen of the Year
  • Community Group of the Year
  • Covid Hero

Due to COVID-19 and the impacts on community events in Wellington, the Community Event of the Year award will again be changed to the COVID Hero award in 2022.

You can nominate any person or group that has made a significant contribution to the community. For the Citizen of the Year and Young Citizen of the Year the efforts of the person being nominated will usually include community involvement over a number of years. The strongest nominations are usually those where efforts have had a positive impact on the broader community.

Nominations will only be accepted via the official forms. No other formats will be accepted.

Your application should detail how the person or group's work has been of benefit to others. For individuals please provide as much detail as possible in relation to their contribution including positions held, community groups they have been a member of, and their involvement in any relevant project(s).

For groups please provide information about how the group has been of benefit to the broader community.

2022 Australia Day Awards Nomination Form

Nominations are now OPEN. Complete the form below to nominate someone for an Australia Day award.

Australia Day Events

For a full list of our 2021 Australia Day Celebrations to be held on Tuesday 26 January, please see our Event Calendar.

Assisted by the Australian Government through the National Australia Day Council.

No items found.
No items found.
No items found.

Citizen of the Year Winners

2021: Kate Mirams

2020: Michael Page

2019: Laurie Smyth

2018: Steve Pendrick

2017: Mark Thorpe

2016: Andrew Bedggood

2015: David Harrington

2014: Peter Donovan

2013: Jim Feltis

2012: Peter Vranek

2011: Jessie Walker

2010: Pat Cameron

2009: Stan Alcock and Dr Ali Khan

2008: Ian Kennedy

2007: Gillian Mayhew

2006: Maureen Beha

2005: Ronald Hewitt

2004: Ben Davies

2003: Heather Stewart

2002: Not Awarded

2001: Louise Dugan

*In 2004 a Wellington Special Award for Exceptional Service to the Heyfield Community was presented to Vern Scott.

Young Citizen of the Year Winners

2020: Alex Nicholls

2019: Tilly Korbman

2018: Thomas Crosbie

2017: Wyatt Kilgower

2016: Sarah Jeffery

2015: Benji Scarfo

2014: John Molden

2013: Not Awarded

2012: Nellie Hunt

2011: Thomas Haymes

2010: Melissa Taylor

2009: Anita Heath

2008: Amanda Read

2007: Narelle Hahn

2006: Victoria Triantafyllou

2005: Laura Moore

2004: Michael Bruns and Anna Melville

2003: Steven Richards

2002: Not Awarded

2001: Fional Clyne and Crystal Davies

Community Group of the Year Winners

2021: A Better Life for Foster Kids

2020: Sale City Band

2019: Stratford Victoria Sister Cities Committee

2018: Sale to Sea Inc.

2017: Sale Central Rotary Club

2016: Lake Glenmaggie Community Representative Group Inc.

2015: Rosedale Chamber of Commerce

2014: The Five Star Project

2013: Heyfield Community Resource Centre

2012: Not Awarded

2011: Yarram Secondary College 'Emergency Expo'

2010: Helga's Project for Kids and Wurruk Harmony Group

2009: Woodside and District Football Netball Club

2008: Sale Cancer Council Unit

2007: Sale Baptist Church Youth Group

2006: Kingsway Community Care

2005: Not Awarded

2004: Central Gippsland Branch of the RSPCA

2003: Maffra Rotary Club

2002: Not Awarded

2001: Not Awarded

Community Event of the Year Winners

2021: Not Awarded

2020: Annual Primary School Twilight Soccer Tournament

2019: Yarram Centenary of Flight Airshow

2018: Heyfield Food and Wine Festival

2017: Seaspray Centenary Celebrations

2016: Stratford - Saluting our Heritage (Stratford Cemetery Trust)

2015: Gippsland Vehicle Collection's Tenth Birthday Celebrations

2014: Gippsland Branch of the Mountain Cattleman's Association of Victoria

2013: Dancing with our Stars

2012: International Winter Festival

2011: St. Thomas Primary School

2010: Lions International District Convention - Hosted by Stratford Lions Club

2009: Wellington 'Relay for Life' Event

2008: Werna Lidi Festival

2007: Gippsland Vehicle Collection Grand Opening

2006: Wellington 'Relay for Life' Event

2005: Not Awarded

2004: Stratford Victoria Sister Cities

2003: Stratford Shakespeare Association

2002: Not Awarded

2001: Not Awarded

*In 2004 a Specialised Event of the Year was awarded to the Heyfield and District Vintage Machinery Group, the 9th National Historical Machinery Association Rally - Heyfield.

COVID Hero Winners

2021: Cathy Cook

This page was last published on: 
Friday, October 1, 2021

In this section...

No items found.

You may also be interested in...