media releases
It’s tap to tip as Council waste facilities add EFTPOS
October 2, 2020

Contactless EFTPOS payments are now accepted at seven of Wellington Shire Council's landfills and transfer stations, making a waste disposal as simple as tap then tip.    

Council operates eight waste disposal facilities across the municipality, comprising two landfills and seven transfer stations (Kilmany has both).

EFTPOS is now available at Kilmany Resource Recovery Centre and Landfill; Maffra Landfill; and transfer stations at Heyfield, Loch Sport, Seaspray, Stratford and Yarram.

Dargo Transfer Station remains cash only.

EFTPOS’s Tap & Pay system can be used for payments of $100 or less, which minimises physical contact and the chance of COVID-19 transmission as well as making payments fast and simple. No cash-out is available.

Exemptions from tip fees are provided to a limited number of charitable and service organisations. Local organisations are able to apply for a concession of up to five cubic metres of waste per financial year.

And starting Sunday 1 November, Council’s green waste services are fee-free for residents (not commercial clients) for the month – just in time for the clearing of properties prior to the Fire Danger Period.

Find more information about our waste facilities, including opening hours and fees at

View Recent Releases

view all
Sign-up to our Digital Edit newsletter today and stay up to date!