media releases
Fairer and easier disability parking rules for Wellington
January 6, 2021

Disability parking permits are changing, with Wellington Shire Council set to shift to the new Accessible Parking Permit (APP) scheme on Monday 11 January.

Wellington Shire Council is one of eight Victorian councils participating in a pilot of the new VicRoads-led scheme.

The APP scheme offers significant improvements in the administration and enforcement of disability parking across Wellington, which means more parking bays for the people who really need them. And because the APP permit holders will have a design that better aligns with the national scheme, permit holders can park in a designated accessible parking space interstate, too.

“Because the Accessible Parking Permit scheme is more secure, it will reduce misuse,” Mayor Garry Stephens said.

“The permit is also fairer and easier to apply for. And it’s great news that it’ll be recognisable across Australia,” Cr Stephens said.

Improvements include consistent eligibility criteria across the state; allowing occupational therapists to do assessments (in addition to GPs); a permanent disability classification that requires no further assessments; increasing the permit length from three years to five years for individuals; and providing temporary permits for six, 12 or 24 months.

System-wide crosschecks and visibility across council boundaries will lead to a reduction in duplicate and misused permits.

All existing Wellington Shire permits will remain valid until they expire.

For more information, visit

View Recent Releases

view all
Sign-up to our Digital Edit newsletter today and stay up to date!