Council meetings and public engagement go online

Media Release Issued:
Thursday, April 30, 2020

Wellington Shire Council has temporarily changed the way it interacts with the public during Council meetings in response to recent State Government legislation relation to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The State Government last week passed legislation that will allow all Councils throughout Victoria to conduct their meetings electronically rather than in person.

This means that members of the public wanting to take part in the Council meeting will also need to do so electronically.

Beginning Tuesday 5 May, members of the public wishing to speak about a particular item on the Council agenda or ask a question during the Council meeting will need to submit their submissions or questions no later than 1pm on the day of the meeting.

The submission or question will be read aloud to the Councillors by the Chief Executive Officer for a response.

These changes will enable Wellington to continue to provide meetings in an open and transparent way, also enabling the continued participation from the rate payers.

As always, Council meetings will continue to be live-streamed via YouTube.

For information about how to submit a submission for an agenda item or a question relation to an agenda item, visit our Council Meetings page or call us on 1300 366 244 to receive assistance over the phone.

Was this page helpful?
Thank you! Your feedback has been successfully sent.
There was an ERROR, please try again.
Page last updated:
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Contact Us
Wellington Shire Council
After Hours Emergency
Service Centres
Sale Service Centre
18 Desailly Street (PO Box 506)
Sale VIC 3850
Operating Hours
Monday to Friday 8.30am - 5.00pm
Yarram Service Centre
156 Grant Street
Yarram VIC 3971
Operating Hours
Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday 10.00am - 2.00pm (Closed Wednesday)
Official website of Wellington Shire Council © 2020.
Wellington Shire Council acknowledges the Gunaikurnai People as the traditional owners of the land that is now Wellington Shire.