John Leslie Art Prize

Finalists Announced

Gippsland Art Gallery is delighted to announce that 47 leading and emerging Australian artists have been shortlisted for the 2016 John Leslie Art Prize.

Showcasing the best of contemporary landscape painting, the $20,000 non-acquisitive award and biennial exhibition will feature works by Tanya Baily, Claire Bridge, Tim Bučković, Kevin Chin, Jason Cordero, Gabrielle Courtenay, Peter Daverington, Jeremy Elkington, Josh Foley, Betra Fraval, Gavin Fry, Oscar Garcia, Linda Gibbs, Stephen Haley, Nicholas Harding, Adrian Headland, Sarah Hendy, Nigel Hewitt, Sophia Hewson, Justin Holt, Alan Jones, Linda Joy, Gina Kalabishis, Richard Knafelc, Richard Maude, Andrew Mezei, Viv Miller, Saffron Newey, Grant Nimmo, Adam Nudelman, Allyson Parsons, Amelda Read-Forsythe, Victoria Reichelt, Mark Rodda, Phil Ryan, Ken Smith, Adriane Strampp, A.J. Taylor, Ross Taylor, Leah Thiessen, Sarah Tomasetti, Brett Weir, Anita West, Naomi White, Kim Wilson, Alice Wormald, and Chee Yong.

Catalogue John Leslie Art Prize 2016 (1MB)

The recipient of the $20,000 non-acquisitive 2016 John Leslie Art Prize will be announced on the evening of Friday 2 September, with the exhibition opening to the public on Saturday 3 September.

First Prize


Best Gippsland Work


Opening and Announcement of Winner

6.00pm Friday 2 September 2016

2016 Judging Panel

Marielle Soni, Senior Art Consultant, Artbank Melbourne

Melinda Martin, Director, Linden New Art, Melbourne

Shannon Smiley, Artist, winner John Leslie Art Prize 2014

The Prize is made possible by the generous ongoing support of Gippsland Art Gallery’s long time Patron, John Leslie O.B.E.


Past Winners 
2014 Shannon Smiley
2012  Tony Lloyd
2010  Jason Cordero 
2008  Andrew Mezei 
2006  Brigid Cole-Adams 
2004  Mark McCarthy 
2002  Vera Möller
2000  David Keeling 


Was this page useful?

Please enter the code from the image to continue: * Required